The Pryz

The Pryz? What could that possibly mean? Well, let me tell ya. When you go to college you may find out (or already know) that college students love to have abbreviations for everything. Whenever you overhear anybody say that they are going to ‘The Pryz’ and ‘Do you wanna come with?’ they are definitely referring to the Edward J. Pryzbyla University Center, CUAs campus eatery.

While the Pryz is where ‘great thing happen’ (stolen from the CUA website), it is most commonly populated by hungry CUA kids. We have a couple feeding options: the student restaurant, the food court, and the POD (Provisions on Demand). Upstairs is the student restaurant that is most commonly inhabited by first and second year students because of their required ‘anytime’ meal plans. Here, you can ‘swipe in’ and it’s an endless all-you-can-eat buffet. Sounds great, right? It totally is. It’s open for like 75% of the day which is different from a lot of the schools I looked at! There are different types of food at different stations. For example, we have a grill where you can order anything from a double bacon cheeseburger to a veggie burger with lettuce and tomato. Don’t forget to grab some french fries! There’s a salad bar, a sandwich bar, a (my personal favorite) soft serve ice cream bar. Also, there are a lot stations that change daily. For instance, there’s a ‘comfort’ section where you will find a lot of classic home-cooked meals: baked mac and cheese, meatloaf, glazed carrots. Changes everyday, it’s awesome. There’s a ‘world’ section, too! It has all kinds of stuff from teriyaki pork & veggies to tacos on Taco Tuesday. Okay, my mouth is watering, I’m done.

No I’m not. While a lot of what I listed sounds ‘good’ over ‘healthy’, there are a ton of healthy options that not only cater to those living a healthy lifestyle but to those who have allergies. Be it gluten-free, dairy-free, you name it, we have options for ya! The salad bar is extremely extensive with all kinds of yummy veggies, different types of lettuce, hummus, fruit, etc. I often frequent the soup section, too. So. Many. Options.

I know that’s a lot of info but I’m here to tell you about my favorite meal in the Pryz: Nugget Night. Oh my gosh, nugget night. Okay, so, every Thursday after around 9 PM, the ‘comfort’ section serves chicken nuggets that give McDonald’s nuggets a run for your money. See, what I do, is grab a plateful of these heavenly nugs, put a few (okay, more than a few) fries on top, and acquire a mixture of condiments. Honey mustard, ketchup & mayo mix, and ranch dressing. Yum! I sit down with my plate and realize I’m alone. Just kidding. Bad joke. Okay, yeah, I think my favorite part of Thursday Nugget Night is the social aspect. So, when you’re a student here, grab a couple friends on your first Thursday night and head down to the Pryz!

Also, if that wasn’t overwhelming enough, here’s the student restaurant’s website that list what your options are, week-by-week: http://www.campusdish.com/en-US/CSE/CatholicUniversity/Menus/

Cheers!

Katie

Leave a Reply

