Advice from a Senior: Join Clubs!!

Get involved! Join clubs! Not only will you meet a ton of people you would never have talked to otherwise, but being an active member of your school’s community is truthfully a huge aspect of what it is to be going to a university. From personal experience it’s a fantastic way to make friends, because chances are if you’re joining the same club you have similar interests.

I can tell you from my own narrative joining clubs was the best decision I could have made and it brought me friends that will last a lifetime. I am currently a member of a few organizations on campus, but the one dearest to my heart is Take Note Acapella. As a person who only sings for fun, I was hesitant to join one of the music clubs here at CUA. I felt like, as a person who doesn’t take music classes or have aspirations to make a career in the field, I would be out of place. Looking back this was just me being stupid, trying to come up with an excuse as to why is shouldn’t try it out. Luckily, a friend of mine who had joined Take Note in a previous semester convinced me to audition just for fun and see what happened. Well what happened was I got in and now have a CUA family that I truthfully could not survive without.

Take Note has provided me with a ton of opportunities from singing in a recording studio, performing at various places in DC, or even alumni of the group helping me network for jobs. Some of my best memories of college thus far are because of Take Note and the shenanigans that ensue when 20 extremely over dramatic people get together two nights a week to sing songs. This is what clubs provide! An excuse to put down the books and just go have fun a few nights a week, not to mention the perks of being able to do cool events in the city that you would never get to be a part of otherwise. Seriously, don’t be afraid to join a bunch of different groups, it provides so many avenues for added fun while in school and I could not imagine my time at CUA without being a part of student organizations.

Leave a Reply

