Thank you.

In the coming week, we will be celebrating a fantastic American holiday: Thanksgiving. Everybody loves Thanksgiving, right?! Food on food on food. And we’re off school, does it get any better than that? Well, I, like many others, like to spend this holiday season reflecting on what I am thankful for.

I’d say I owe a lot of my thanks to my parents. Not only am I thankful for the material things I am able to have because of them but for the opportunity to do what I’m doing: going to college. It’s such a wonderful and rewarding opportunity that I find I often take for granted. They’ve given me the single most important opportunity to achieve what I would like to achieve.

I am thankful for my health, because I literally don’t know what I’d do without the ability to go to class after a measly four-hour slumber… three nights in a row. Also, how does one usually recover from six cups of coffee? Thank goodness my mother often reminds me that I won’t be this young for that much longer… haha.

I am thankful for my friends, who are there for me when things aren’t going so well. More importantly, though, and my mother has always stressed this: they are there for me when times are good. Those are the best kind of friends; not only available when you’re not proud of yourself, but when you are. They have provided me with invaluable memories, priceless wisdom, and irreplaceable keepsakes. I have to keep reminding myself not to be sentimental yet, I still have an entire semester until graduation!

I think that if you were to leave you all with one message, although I’m certain you’ve heard this before, I would say this: don’t dwell on the things you don’t have, but rather rejoice and appreciate the things that you do. That’s what this season’s all about anyway, right?

Cheers!

Katie

Leave a Reply

