A Day in the Life of a CUA Sophomore

Wake up, go to class, go to track and field practice, go home. That was more or less my schedule for all four years of high school. This strict, very monotonous schedule had its pros and cons. In high school, we had very little control over what classes we could take. The only difference in my schedule and my friends’ schedules would come down to extracurricular activities. But since most of my friends came from the track and field team, we all had the same exact schedule, every day, for four years.

But all that changed once I got to college! I was finally free to choose my own classes and try out a variety of clubs and organizations. I was able to become an individual. I found comfort in the fact that nobody else on campus (even if they were the same major as me) had the same exact schedule as me. Here’s a good example of how diverse my schedule can be (this is a typical Monday):

8:00am – Wake up and get dressed. I don’t always get up at 8am, but when I do, it’s because I have work!

8:30am – Eat breakfast in the Pryz. My usual breakfast consists of eggs, yogurt, granola, a banana, and a nice conversation with Mr. Thomas.

9:00-11:00am – Work. I work in Leahy for the campus’ Technology Services. “Good morning, Technology Services, Andrew speaking.”

11:10-12:00pm – History of Architecture II. As an architecture major, I am required to take a series of three history of architecture courses. Although I’m not much of a history buff (some may say I’m the complete opposite), because it has to do with architecture, I think it’s a wonderful class.

12:00-2:00pm – This timeframe can go two ways – 1) if I finished my work for studio (the core architecture class in which you create designs and models), then I enjoy a relaxing during a two-hour lunch with my friends OR 2) if I didn’t finish my work for studio, I frantically pull myself together and rush to finish my project or design.

2:10-6:00pm – Studio. As a second-semester sophomore in CUA’s architecture program, this semester’s studio class is my first 6-credit studio. Say goodbye to TA’s and say hello to many more late nights in Crough. Although my schedule says I’m only in “studio” from 2:10-6:00pm on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, my schedule should actually say that I’m in studio whenever I’m not in any other class. I might sound bitter when I talk about studio, but I’m really not… it’s just a complicated love-hate relationship. I truly do love studio, though J.

6:00pm – Grab a quick bite or to-go box for dinner.

6:30-8:00pm – F.O.C.U.S. PCN play practice. I am treasurer of one of the largest multicultural group on campus, F.O.C.U.S. (the Filipino Organization of Catholic University Students). Every spring semester we hold our largest event, Philippine Culture Night. It is a student-directed play along with dances. We also serve authentic Filipino cuisine to our audience for dinner.

9:30-10:30pm – Esto Vir meeting. I am part of a Catholic brotherhood that focuses on prayer, brotherhood, chastity, fortitude, and self-sacrifice. I am also their official photographer, so just be warned that if you come to a meeting, I may or may not take your picture.

10:30pm – Mass at St. Vinny’s. I have to say that among all of the things I try to participate in, 10:30pm daily mass at St. Vinny’s might be one of my favorite affairs. It’s only around 30 minutes, but those 30 minutes allow me to digress and just think about my day. I am able to relax and just talk to God. Wonderful way to end the day.

11:00pm-?? – Homework/sleep. Sleep really depends on how much work I have to do for the next day. I left the end-time in question marks, because you might not want to know what that end-time can become.

– Andrew Santiano

Leave a Reply

