Junior Year Reflection

Wow! This year is quickly coming to a close and I really cannot believe it. What a year it has been. There were no shortages of learning experiences this year and amazing memories made. This year symbolized big change in my life and also brought me one year closer to being a college graduate (don’t mind me as I sob on my keyboard). Having a lot of your close friends around you getting ready to graduate puts it all into perspective. That will be me in exactly one year, (hopefully not) panicking about finding a job, apartment hunting, and really thinking about what the future will hold. It’s scary and exciting all at the same time.

The fall semester started in early August for me when I moved back here for RA training. Being a Resident Assistant has been a huge part of my year and is now part of my identity. I have a passion for working with fellow students and really enjoy being a strong role model for those around me. The fall semester flew as I continually piled things on my plate. I was the recruitment chair for my sorority, Kappa Tau Gamma, and that was a huge commitment. In September I met one of the best friends I have ever had. Even as a junior, you still meet so many people and continue to develop friendships. My best friend MaryKate is a freshman, Dual Engineering and Architecture Major and she has added so much sunshine into my life. I am so thankful to have met her and to be able to call her my little. Also in September, I decided to go out on a limb and apply for this blogging position which I am SO happy I did! Blogging has been so much fun and I will surely miss doing it next year. Being an engineering major, I really underestimated my ability to be able to write but I am proud of myself for trying something new and succeeding!

October brought a lot of stress with midterms and my usual mid-semester slump. It was easily remedied with beautiful weather and my favorite season: fall. I attended many CUA football games when I was taking a break from all my studying and other extra-curricular activities. October flew by and before I knew it, it was Thanksgiving break! It was nice to go home for a few days to celebrate Thanksgiving with my family. That holiday is always a nice way to rest and recharge before finals week in December. Finals week may sound stressful or seem stressful but I personally don’t mind it. For starters, one of my favorite CUA events occurs during finals week: Late Night Breakfast. Program Board here on campus always hosts breakfast about halfway through the week of finals and it is AMAZING. I am a huge breakfast fan in general but this is just a whole new level of fantastic. It is also a sort of way to see everyone all together before the completion of finals week and before everyone heads home for a month for Christmas celebrations.

Coming back for the spring is always so exciting! Though it is hard to leave my house after a month of mom’s amazing cooking and my family’s wonderful company, I know my home at CUA is awaiting me. I honestly can’t believe I am typing this and it is April. It seems like I just got back! The spring semester as a junior is interesting because a lot of people choose to go abroad. My best friend Dennis happens to be in Rome as we speak! It has been so hard to not have my best friend here but I love that he is having an amazing time in Roma and can’t wait to hear about every single experience upon his return.

The beginning of the semester brought great news and opportunities. Back in December I applied to be the Lead Cardinal Ambassador for the 2015-2016 year and I was informed in January that I got the position! This means I will take over the Cardinal Ambassador program once my predecessors, Kaitlynn and Schultz, graduate. I was so surprised and honored to have been chosen and I really cannot wait for this new role!

February was a short month which naturally, flew by. Notice a trend here?! My new classes were all so enjoyable and it was really fun to get into very specific classes for Civil Engineering, such a Construction Management with my amazing professor Dr. Lucko. I enjoy his class because of how engaged he is with us and how much I have learned about my future career! Dr. Lucko encouraged me to apply for many available scholarships and really made an impact on my future. I will always say that my favorite thing about CUA is that your professors really do care about you and want you to succeed, and Dr. Lucko is a professor that truly exemplifies that notion.

March and April came and went with a lot of exciting things on campus and in DC. On campus, Odyssey Day is the best part of April. As Lead Ambassador, I had the chance to help plan and schedule the day for all 2300 people that we had on campus for the event! I learned so much about working with people, but ultimately it made me love being a Cardinal Ambassador even more. Like I said, I am so lucky to have been given the position and cannot wait to continue to grow into a leader in the role. The best part of DC in the spring is of course the cherry blossoms! I love photography so the spring is absolute heaven for me. This past weekend, I also accomplished a personal goal of mine which I am so proud of! I went running on the National Mall and it was amazing; my sunburn would say otherwise but I am proud of those 4.5 miles that I ran and in a way, the sunburn is like a badge of honor.

As finals week looms yet again, I can’t help but look back on this year and think of all the great memories I have made. I have changed in such incredible ways and I am forever thankful for the opportunities I’ve had on this journey through junior year. I have loved every moment of this year and am excited for what’s to come next year. Looking forward to this summer, I have my internship set up for the second year in a row. Can’t wait for another beautifully humid summer in the District! I am happy to have CUA as my home because of the many experiences I get to have; each day I grow a little more and learn more about myself. That can only happen in a very special place and CUA is that place. Forever grateful that I chose CUA as my home.

– Lexie Mayewski

Leave a Reply

