The Busch School Ethics

One of the first times that I visited Catholic University and the Busch School of Business and Economics, I received a t-shirt, which had a quote on the back that I will never forget.

The quote was from Pope Francis’ Laudato Sì, where he stated, “Business is a noble vocation,” (129).

Upon joining the Busch School of Business and Economics, this quote guided me in my classes and in my own personal studies. During my time here at Catholic, I’ve come to realize that everything that the Business School does is guided by ethics.

The Busch School mission statement outlines four Catholic social principles that guide students in their education: human dignity, solidarity, subsidiarity, and the common good. To break it down:  human dignity is important to help business students make smart ethical decisions, through seeing the dignity of the human person. Students also need to learn that they are not alone in the world, and thus solidarity highlights how people are connected and dependent on one another. Subsidiarity guides students to realize that every member of society has rights. Since society’s primary goal is to reach the common good for everyone, students should also strive towards the common good in their business endeavors.

The Busch School mission statement guides students to recognize, respect, and depend on all of humanity, while also striving to make society better as a whole. This mission statement can be found in every class that is taught in the School of Business. All students are even required to take ethics classes to create business leaders with integrity and conviction. An incredibly popular class on campus that helps to form these business leaders semester after semester is Professor Widmer’s Vocation of Business (MGT 118).

When I arrived at Catholic University, I was so excited to take Professor Widmer’s Vocation of Business. I had heard so many great things about the class from former students and couldn’t wait to take it myself. Professor Widmer is a former Swiss Guard under Pope John Paul II and has had success in helping to create and start up multiple companies. In his class, Vocation of Business, he helps students to find not only their true calling in life, but he helps them to discover who they really are and who they want to be.

Every college student and business leader struggles with ethical dilemmas all the time, and so this class addressed that problem. In one of our semester long projects, we were assigned to write a five page paper titled My Moral Compass. Throughout the semester, students begin to discover what drives them and who they want to be. I found the assignment very enlightening and empowering. This course guided and helped me to discover not only my ethics, but the business leader that I wanted to be. Through Pope Francis’ quote, the Busch School’s mission statement, and Professor Widmer’s class, I even created my own mission statement, which I strive to live by.

If you’re curious, here is the mission statement that I choose to live by:

I want to work hard to strengthen my community, my family, my friends, and my business. I will serve as a leader to my community through my love of God and my neighbor. I will strive to be my best self so that I can make a difference and provide opportunities for others. I will inspire myself every single day. I will take advantage of new experiences, while accepting my responsibilities and failures.

The Busch School ethics inspired my mission statement and the way that I live. The Busch School creates a new kind of student and business leader that is lead by their own moral compass.

–Sam C.

Sam is a junior from Hillsborough, New Jersey. She is an International Economics and Finance Honors major with an Italian Studies minor. On the weekends you can find Sam crocheting at the Lincoln Memorial, and you’ll catch her giving tours during the week at Father O’Connell Hall on campus.

Leave a Reply

