Academic Spotlight: Biology

Hi everyone! My name is Sam and I am a junior biology major with a minor in German on the pre-med and liberal studies honors tracks. I am also completing the 4+1 program to earn my master’s degree in biotechnology! Today I wanted to tell you about life as a biology major and answer some FAQ’s!

Can I do research as an undergraduate student?

Yes! This was a HUGE reason I decided to come to Catholic! Starting freshman year I was a research assistant in a bacteriophage lab. Professors here are excited to give undergrads opportunities to learn, and as a research-focused school, our faculty are leading innovation in their fields. We also have an annual research day where faculty and students can present their research to the campus community (Bonus: some professors will even give you extra credit to go check it out).

Biology is a tough major–is there still time for fun activities and extracurriculars?

College-level work is challenging no matter what your major is and bio is no exception. BUT, we still have time to experience all that D.C. and Catholic have to offer! I love studying at the monuments, exploring the Smithsonian museums, and joining clubs on campus! I still have time to hold leadership positions in clubs like Biology Club and College Democrats while balancing the time needed to do well in classes. Majoring in biology certainly requires time management skills, but you will have time to explore your interests and study the subject you are passionate about!

Are there resources to help biology majors succeed?

At Catholic you have tons of resources. Most science classes have a group tutor who is at the library two hours a week. There are also math and writing centers where you can sign up or just drop by for help with writing and math in any class! Private tutoring options and your professor’s office hours are available every week. In my experience, my professors have been extremely accessible and willing to help! And let’s not forget about academic and career advisors! These advisors can help connect you with resources and plan your courses, find internships, and set up your future career!

What are labs like in college?

Labs are my favorite part of being a biology major at Catholic. It is when we get to apply all the concepts we learn from lectures through a hands-on experience. Starting freshman year you will have labs in biology and chemistry, and eventually you will also take physics labs. While they are a lot longer than high school labs, they quickly become your favorite part of the week as you do fun experiments and get to know your professors even better. My favorite lab was my sophomore research class. I got to design my own primers, plasmids, and change the DNA of a microscopic worm! I learned so much and got to handle my own research project which is invaluable experience.

Why should I study biology at Catholic University?

The biology department is a strong community of students and professors. I know all of the biology professors in our department and they know me personally. Our small class sizes and dedicated faculty allow us to have a strong support network with tons of opportunities. While some schools can feel competitive in biology/pre-med programs, Catholic fosters friendships instead. My classmates and I help each other study, work together in the lab, and support each other throughout our time at Catholic U. Come join our community and I hope to C.U. around the lab soon!

–Sam M.

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑