Matcha and More!

Hey! My name is John and I’m a rising senior majoring in psychology with a certificate in Islamic World Studies. If you ask me, something that unites most college students is the need for caffeine. One thing that I have discovered about living in Washington D.C. is the amount of incredible coffee shops scattered around the area. From the Starbucks Reserve, located just feet away from campus, to Foxtrot, which has locations both in Georgetown and Mount Vernon, there are so many good options to choose from.

In pursuit of the perfect iced matcha latte (with oat milk!), I have been to at least seven different coffee shops over the past month. A few of the coffee shops that I want to highlight include Tatte, Emissary, and Foxtrot. Tatte is located in DuPont Circle, which is just a 15 minute drive from campus or an easy metro ride on the Red Line! While I hate to pick favorites, Tatte might just have my favorite iced matcha latte with oat milk. In addition to incredible drinks, they serve delicious breakfast sandwiches (I recommend the standard breakfast sandwich with added avocado). The inside of the store is beautiful as well and will hopefully be open to customers again soon!

Despite not having my ideal bright green drink, Foxtrot is my favorite of the three spotlighted coffee shops and is the home of the best tasting espresso I’ve tried in this area. They have much more than coffee too, ranging from pastries catered by District Donuts to sourdough bread starter kits. The interior of the store is also stunning and it is currently open to the public! I have often found myself studying or working on assignments at Foxtrot early in the morning, immersed in their coffee shop and convenience market experience.

The last coffee shop that I want to highlight is Emissary. Emissary is my ideal study spot. There are plenty of tables and seats available for you from sunrise to sunset. The environment is so friendly and hospitable and the music always has my head swaying. Their iced matcha latte is also incredible, though I highly recommend their cold brew and their coconut macaroons!

There really is a coffee shop for each person’s preference in Washington D.C.! While it may take a while to find which shop is the perfect fit for you, the caffeinated journey you’ll take along the way will be so enjoyable! Not to mention that just about every coffee shop in D.C. can be visited via the metro!

-John K.

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑