Work It Wednesday: Calling All Nurses

Hi there, I’m Graceann, a rising senior nursing major here at Catholic.  In addition, I’m earning a Spanish for Healthcare certificate, president of the Student Nurses’ Association, and a fellow in the Office of Admission!  Here’s a look at my busy summer working as a Student Nurse Extern at MedStar Washington Hospital Center in the Emergency Department.

GA2

At my externship, I’ve been able to continue to learn more about all of the great advantages that being a nurse offers.  I get to work a regular nurses’ schedule, shadow a nurse during my shifts, and put my classroom knowledge to work in a practical setting.  I even get to practice hands-on work like inserting IVs and doing assessments on patients.

GA3  

I learned about this job from my academic adviser who encouraged me to try something different and see how I liked it.  I never EVER thought that I would enjoy working in the Emergency Department, but after getting that little push, I’ve been able to step out of my comfort zone and I feel more confident with my actions and my decision to pursue a career in nursing.   

GA4

As summer and my externship come to a close, I’m fortunate enough to say that I have been offered a position to continue my work in the Emergency Department throughout the school year as well! Internships and externships are available to students in all fields of study; just be willing to try something new and get your hands dirty!

–Graceann S.  

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑