Academic Spotlight: Nursing

Hi everyone! I’m Lizzy, a sophomore nursing major from Staten Island, New York here at Catholic U! The enrollment deadline is just a few days away, so if you’re trying to decide if the Conway School of Nursing is for you, keep reading!

Your first questions are probably about Anatomy and Physiology (A&P): What to expect?  Well, let me help you out! A&P was probably the coolest class I took freshman year because we get to learn all about our body and how it works. Our lectures were broken down into the different body systems and started building upon one another each lesson in order to create a manageable and completely awesome course schedule.

I bet I can guess your next question: Studying? Let me tell you, in college, studying is essential for every class and nursing is no exception. However, if you pay attention in lectures and labs, take good notes, and review a bit each day, you will be prepared for any class you take. My A&P class is where I met some of my best friends too so don’t be shy and get a study group together!

Another question on everyone’s mind is probably clinicals, right? As a sophomore, I have not begun any of mine yet (they start fall semester of junior year), but I am so excited to begin next semester! Being located in D.C. means that we have access to some of the best hospitals to do our clinical rotations. Here on campus, we also have super cool simulation labs with “patients” we can practice with.

If you have any more questions or just want to know more about life on campus as a nursing major, don’t hesitate to reach out to your admission counselor. I am so happy and proud to be a Catholic U student and can’t wait to see you in the Sim Labs!

–Lizzy M.

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑